2020-2021 Smithville Board of Education

  • School Board Meetings are held on the third Wednesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. You may contact the Board of Education by calling board secretary Donna White at (816) 532-0406 or by email. 

    The District is governed by a seven-member Board of Education. The members of the Board are elected by the voters of the District for three-year staggered terms with two or three members being elected each year. All Board members are elected at-large and serve without compensation. The Board is responsible for all policy decisions. The President of the Board is elected by the Board from its members for a term of one year and has no regular administrative duties. The Secretary and Treasurer are appointed by the Board and may or may not be members of the Board.

    The Board of Education appoints the Superintendent of Schools, who is the chief administrative officer of the District, responsible for carrying out the policies set by the Board. Additional members of the administrative staff are appointed by the Board of Education upon recommendation by the Superintendent.

    2020-2021 School Year
    Month Date
    July July 15, 2020
    August August 19, 2020
    September September 16, 2020
    October October 21, 2020
    November November 18, 2020
    December December 16, 2020
    January January 20, 2021
    February February 17, 2021
    March *March 10, 2021
    April *April 14, 2021
    May May 19, 2021
    June June 16, 2021

    *Meetings are on the second Wednesday