Return to Headlines

Teacher of the Year Announced

The Northland Regional Chamber of Commerce will celebrate their 33rd Annual Excellence in Education Banquet on Tuesday, April 23. Candidates that are nominated for the Excellence in Education Awards are then considered for the Teacher and Support Staff Employee of the Year District Award. On Thursday, April 18, we announced SSD's Teacher of the Year & Support Staff of the Year!

Mrs. Lacey Lewis, Technology & Innovation Teacher at Eagle Heights Elementary is SSD's Teacher of the Year! Thank you for all that you do for our school family! You are awesome!

Congratulations to all nominee! Celebrations from the 33rd Annual Excellence in Education Banquet will be shared on social media and in the May Warrior QuickNews!

Teacher of the Year/Excellence in Classroom Teaching: Justin Corcoran (Mathematics Teacher, Smithville High School), Sara Freeman (Technology & Innovation Teacher, Maple Elementary School), Lacey Lewis (Technology & Innovation Teacher, Eagle Heights Elementary School), Toni McLaughlin (Early Childhood Teacher, Horizon Elementary School), and Trevor Mosby (Physical Education Teacher, Smithville Middle School)

The Teacher of the Year and Support Staff of the Year Selection Committee was made up of representatives from the City of Smithville, Smithville PTO, Smithville Chamber of Commerce, and Smithville School District Administration. We thank our selection committee, and we thank the businesses and individuals listed below for sponsoring our District Teacher of the Year and Support Staff of the Year awards.

St. Luke's North Hospital - Smithville
Fullerton CPA
CSDSIP - Gary Abram
Northwest Missouri State University
Leinda Haddock
Reed Portrait Group

Lacey Lewis